MF 3 boxes WEB.jpeg

Mahogany Frog

Sunday, June 24 @ 8pm
Burton Cummings Theatre


Mahogany Frog is an instrumental electronic rock band from Winnipeg. The group is comprised of four multi-instrumentalists: Graham Epp (guitar/keyboards/trumpet), Jesse Warkentin (guitar/keyboards), Scott Ellenberger (bass/keyboards/trumpet) and Andy Rudolph (drums/electronics). The music draws influence from '60s psychedelia, electronica, '70s progressive/kraut-rock, jazz, 50's "ultra" lounge and ambient/experimentalism.

Using an arsenal of analogue and digital keyboards, feedback-ridden guitars, fuzz-bass and walls of electronics, the group creates dynamic, multi-layered songs that explore tone, mood and composition. Although Mahogany Frog's unorthodox sounds and complex arrangements can challenge the ear, their haunting progressions and playful melodies are immediately approachable. Onstage the band performs furiously and at massive volumes, often connecting multiple songs together with interludes of ambient noise.

Over the past twenty years Mahogany Frog has released six records, delivered high-profile performances at Pop Montreal, Winnipeg Jazz Festival, WSO New Music Festival, JUNOfest, Prog Day (Chapel Hill, NC), Reeperbahn Festival (Hamburg, GER) and SESC (Sao Paulo, BZ).  Their 2012 release SENNA won Instrumental Album of the Year at the 2013 Western Canadian Music Awards, and was nominated in the same category at the 2014 JUNO Awards.

Mahogany Frog is currently tracking demos for an album showcasing music written since the release of SENNA as well as an original score for the 1926 silent film Faust directed by F.W. Murnau. Both albums will be released in 2019.